Wellbeing & Engagement

At Devon Meadows Primary School, wellbeing and engagement is supported and promoted in daily classroom routines and weekly structured lessons that are aligned with Respectful Relationships, Zones of Regulation, School Values, Student Voice and the Victorian Curriculum. 


Seasons for Growth 

This is an education program that builds the resilience and wellbeing of children who have recently experienced loss due to death, family separation or migration. Seasons for Growth aims to support young people to understand their feelings, help them develop skills for coping, restore self-confidence and educate them about the grief process.


Program structure

Seasons for Growth is delivered to small groups of 4 to 7 children and facilitated by an adult ‘companion’. The program has 4 age levels: 

  • 6 to 8 years
  • 9 to 10 years
  • 11 to 12 years
  • 13 to 18 years.

The program is offered over 8 x 40 to 50-minute sessions plus a celebration and reconnector session (held 6 to 8 weeks after completion). The structure of the program is based on the metaphor of four seasons reflecting Worden’s four stages of grief (2009). Each session has a specific focus and session outcomes incorporate discussion, stories, drawing, role-play and guided meditation.